It always rains on me in Puerto Rico

14 May

It always rains on me in Puerto Rico and that’s ok. I am on a girls’ weekend in Ocean Park. We stay at the Número Uno Guest House. My two friends have been coming to this same place for eight years. My first trip here was their second year. It poured. And poured. We spent a lot of our time huddled on the wrought iron couches listening to the rain on the tin roof while deeply immersed in our books. My second trip here was their fourth year. It poured and was windy, but we did have a couple nice beach days. And now on my third trip here, I find all five (every year there is a different cast of characters who join the original two) of us huddled together in the courtyard talking about going to lunch; however there isn’t any power so we will just have to make due with the hunk of Manchego.

It’s ok that it rains because we are still relaxing. We still don’t have to check email. We don’t have to figure out how to entrain children in the downpour. We don’t have to do anything except be thankful that we can take this time out to recharge. We are milking our time in the rain, together but alone in our books and our thoughts (and drinks.)

I spent a lot of time worrying about leaving my family for four days. But my wonderful husband reminded me in his way that if I didn’t enjoy myself this time would be wasted. So therefore it goes to support the great advice – if you are going to do something do it well.

One Response to “It always rains on me in Puerto Rico”

  1. The T May 14, 2011 at 10:50 pm #

    I live 35 miles away from Puerto Rico on the Island of St Thomas in the Virgin Islands so i share the weather you girls are getting today! A couple of thundershowers, but over all, it made the day overcast yet mild.

    The next several days should be beautiful so have fun and go to La Bombonera for some Mallorca’s fr breakfast…any local in Old san Juan goes there for those beautiful Spanish delicacies and the very best coffee you an get in Puerto Rico. http://www.discoveringpuertorico.com/2009/07/la-bombonera-old-san-juan/

    Have fun!

    T.

Leave a Reply

