Milking Time

24 Feb

I have been struggling for a while about finding the time to work out. I have always worked out in the morning, but after having my twins morning is the time for precious sleep.  I get up at 6am so I can get the early train to work in order to get home for dinner time with the family.  So working out in the morning means very early.  I know people do it.  I have been talking to many people to work up the motivation and conviction to do it.

So this past Tuesday I got up at 5am and did 45 minutes of Power Yoga in my kitchen/playroom/livingroom.  I listened to a podcast of a yoga instructor in Chicago, but he was trained in Cambridge by Baron Baptiste so it is the same style of yoga I love.  It felt great after.

Today I did it again.  Today was harder.  It is hard to stay focused. I miss the heat of the yoga studio.  But there isn’t time to drive to a studio. So I’m sure I’ll get used to this.

But the other way I am milking time is walking stairs.  At work I get off at the 8th floor and walk up to 18th where my office is located.  My friend at work @soniachung turned me onto this.  It is energizing.  My goal is to do that three times a day – so far I have only made it twice a day.  I should start scheduling meetings with Sonia and hold them in the stairwell.  That is the easiest way to do the stairs – talking to someone the whole way up.  The alternative way I have been doing this is listening to music very loud on my iPod.  Lady Gaga, Ricky Martin and Ozzy are good for that.

So I am not working out like I used to, but I am milking the time I can to squeeze it in.  I’m ok with this for now.

2 Responses to “Milking Time”

  1. Donna Tocci February 24, 2011 at 4:15 pm #

    I’m completely impressed that you are getting up and working out so early. And, I found your/Sonia’s notes of encouragement in the stairwell as I chose the stairs over the elevator yesterday…because I remembered your Tweet. Thank you!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Milking Time: I have been struggling for a while about finding the time to work out. I have alway... -- Topsy.com - February 25, 2011

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Get Followed Free, gossip boy, Disney, Down Town, Lady Gaga WordPresss and others. Lady Gaga WordPresss said: @lukewilliamss Milking Time: I have been struggling for a while about finding the time to work out. I have alway… http://bit.ly/icQB33 […]

Leave a Reply

